VIT-Buckle Society

The Vit-Buckle Society provides an open forum that mentors developing vitreoretinal surgeons, nurtures innovative surgical technologies and therapeutic approaches for retinal diseases, and fosters best practices.

Click here to watch video coverage of the 2017 Annual Meeting in Las Vegas

VBS Exec Board Members

Thomas Albini, M.D.


Dr. Albini received a Bachelor of Arts degree, Magna Cum Laude, from Princeton University and a Doctor of Medicine degree from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.


Audina “Nina” Berrocal, M.D.

Chair, Annual Meeting

Audina “Nina” Berrocal, MD received her undergraduate education at Princeton University followed by medical school at Tufts University School of Medicine.


R.V. Paul Chan, M.D.

Vice President, Education

R.V. Paul Chan, MD is a Vitreoretinal specialist, with an expertise in pediatric retinal disease, at the Illinois Eye and Ear Infirmary, University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC).


John Kitchens, M.D.

Chair, Communications

John W. Kitchens, MD is a vitreoretinal surgeon with the Retina Associates of Kentucky in Lexington, Kentucky.


Derek Kunimoto, M.D., J.D.

Vice President, Governance

Derek Y. Kunimoto, M.D., J. D. graduated from Harvard College summa cum laude, and Harvard Medical School with honors.


Rohit “Ross” Lakhanpal, M.D.

President Elect
Vice President, Membership

Dr. Lakhanpal is one of the founding members of VBS. He received a Bachelor of Arts degree, Magna Cum Laude, from Franklin & Marshall College...


Geeta Lalwani, M.D.

Vice President, Corporate Relations

After receiving her dual Bachelor of Arts degree in Chemistry and Japanese from Smith College, Dr. Geeta Lalwani attended...


Charles Mango, M.D.


Dr. Charles W. Mango is a Clinical Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at the Weill Cornell Medical College in New York City.


Andrew Moshfeghi, M.D., M.B.A.


Andrew A. Moshfeghi, MD, MBA is Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of Southern California (USC)...


Charles Wykoff, M.D., Ph.D.

Chair, Annual Meeting Scientific Program

Dr. Wykoff is Director of the Greater Houston Retina Research Foundation associated with Retina Consultants of Houston and has extensive...


VBS Committees

  • Education Committee

    • Jonathan Chang, MD
    • Royce Chen, MD
    • Ross Lakhanpal, MD
    • John Miller, MD
    • Anton Orlin, MD
    • Mrinali Patel, MD
    • Aleksandra Rachitskaya, MD
    • Chair: R.V. Paul Chan, MD
    • Efrem Mandelcorn, MD
  • Membership Committee

    • Lisa Faia, MD
    • Steve Yeh, MD
    • Chair: Ross Lakhanpal, MD
  • Fellows' Foray Committee

    • Co-organizer: Aleksandra Rachitskaya, MD
    • Co-organizer: Anton Orlin, MD
    • Co-chair: R.V. Paul Chan, MD
    • Co-chair: Ross Lakhanpal, MD
  • VBS Rounds Surgical Webinar Committee

    • Organizer: John Miller, MD
    • Chair: Royce Chen, MD
  • Communications Committee

    • Jorge Fortun, MD
    • Byron Ladd, MD
    • Chair: John Kitchens, MD
  • Website Committee

    • Thomas Albini, MD
    • John Kitchens, MD
    • Chair: Andrew Moshfeghi, MD, MBA
  • Annual Program Committee

    • Nina Berrocal, MD
    • Derek Kunimoto, MD
    • Ross Lakhanpal, MD
    • Anton Orlin, MD
    • Aleksandra Rachitskaya, MD
    • Andrew Schimel, MD
    • Chair: Charles Wykoff, MD, PhD